The University of Pretoria

About the University of Pretoria, South Africa

UP is the leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest in the country.

In 2008, student numbers totalled 57 409 (38 934 contact and 18 475 distance). The University has six campuses and a number of other sites of operation such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. Central administration is located at the Hatfield campus.



The University of Pretoria offers its more than 1800 academic programmes in two of the official languages, namely Afrikaans and English. (Some programmes and modules are offered only in English.)



In 1996, the University of Pretoria became the university with the highest research output in South Africa and we have maintained this status. The University is ranked as one of the top 500 universities in the world and is one of only four universities in South Africa to have achieved this distinction.



We are celebrating our Centenary this year.


The academic programmes of the University are offered in the following nine faculties and a business school. The faculties comprise a total of 140 departments and 85 centres, institutes and bureaus.



UP is at the forefront of tertiary education in the country and we collaborate with world-class partners to ensure continued excellence in learning and teaching.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: